Advisory Boards

External Advisory Board

Ralph Bradshaw, Ph.D.
University of California at San Francisco
Dr. Bradshaw is Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of San Fancisco.  He is widely recognized for his pioneering studies of nerve growth factor and nerve growth factor receptor structure and function. In addition he is a noted protein chemist and a leader in the development of proteomics. He is the past chair of Biochemistry at UC Irvine and is currently Editor-in-chief of Molecular and Cellular Proteomics, a journal that he initiated for ASBMB.

David Nanus, M.D.
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Dr. Nanus is a urologic oncologist well known for his studies of the effects of cell-surface peptidases and the regulation of their expression by steroids in the development and progression of prostate cancer and renal cancer.  He is currently the Chief, Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology, Department of Medicine.

J. Thomas Parsons, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology at the University of Virginia
Dr. Parsons is highly recognized for his outstanding work on tyrosine kinases associated with focal adhesions and their role in cell adherence, cell migration, cell division and transformation.  Dr. Parsons is the previous chair of the Department of Microbiology at the University of Virginia.

Doug Rees, Ph.D.
California Institute of Technology
Dr. Rees is an HHMI investigator and a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He is well known for his major contributions to the structural biology of proteins involved in biological energy transduction processes. He has particularly focused on metalloproteins and membrane transporters.

H. Ronald Kaback, M.D.
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Dr. Kaback is known for his pioneering work on active transport of molecules across cell membranes and the development of isolated vesicles for studying membrane transport, known as Kabackosomes.  He is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences.


Internal Advisory Board 

Dr. Doug Andres
Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry

Dr. James Geddes
Professor and Head of the Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center

Dr. Michael Mendenhall
Associate Professor and Genetic Technologies Core Director

Dr. Craig Rush
Professor and Associate Vice President of Research

Dr. David Watt
Professor and Organic Synthesis Core Director

Dr. Trevor Creamer
Professor  and Associate Director for Center for Structural Biology